Hmm…it didn’t turn out quite right

I forgot to take a before photo of this.  It started out as a men’s t-shirt with ringer neck and sleeves.  I don’t have a serger so I thought I would make a short sleeve version of this Oliver +S pattern .  It has neck and hem facings so it pretty much finishes itself.  The facing fabric is a Japanese cotton I got at Michael Levine.

I am not sure that I like that the facing top stitching is going through the bird.  Somehow the whole thing isn’t quite what I had envisioned.  My model wasn’t overly patient either.

I sewed an eye on to the bird and did some hand topstitching to try and make the bird stand out.   Hmmm maybe more stitching would pull things together.


There is a button at the shoulder that is hard to see .  It shows up better in the photo below.   I need to think about a serger so I can make my old sweaters into something for Doodle.

About Jessica

Hello. I am a working mom who loves to make things for her kid. I am trying to repurpose as many items as possible this year and this is my adventure doing it.

Leave a comment